top of page
  • Think News Online

We are yet to receive direct notification – ECOWAS responds to exit from three member states

The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) has responded to the withdrawal of three member states – Niger, Mali and Burkina Faso from the Commission.

A joint statement from the military rulers of these member states on Sunday, January 28 said, “after 49 years of existence, the valiant people of Burkina, Mali and Niger note with much regret, bitterness and great disappointment that their Organization has moved away from the ideals of founding fathers and Pan-Africanism.”

“The organization notably failed to assist these states in their existential fight against terrorism and insecurity,” Colonel Amadou Abdramane, Niger junta spokesman, stated.

ECOWAS in statement reacting to the news of Mali, Niger and Burkina Faso denouncing their membership said it is yet to receive an official notification from the three member states.

“The ECOWAS commission is yet to receive any direct formal notification from the three member states about their intention to withdraw from the community,” the regional bloc said in a statement hours after Mali, Niger and Burkina Faso had announced their withdrawal.

ECOWAS noted that it has been working assiduously with these three countries to restore constitutional order in their states.

The Commission said Burkina Faso, Mali and Niger remain important members of the Community and ECOWAS remains committed to finding a negotiated solution to their political impasse.

The regional bloc has adopted several mechanisms to ensure the military rulers return the Sahel nations to democratic governance and ensure there’s elections yet to no avail.

In spite of negotiations, sanctions, and threats of military action, the military authorities have not offered a specific timeline for restoring constitutional authority to the countries since the coups.

Rather, they have become more antagonistic towards the bloc and have charged it with being influenced by outside forces. Along with severing military and cooperative links with their erstwhile colonial overlord France, the three nations have turned to Russia for security assistance.

Moreover, due to insurgencies connected to the Islamic State and al Qaeda, the three military chiefs of Mali, Niger, and Burkina Faso have stated that they would prefer to restore security before holding elections.

How the decisions made by the juntas in Mali, Niger, and Burkina Faso will affect the 15-member regional bloc that allows people and goods to travel freely is yet unknown.

As per the treaty of the bloc, states that intend to leave must provide a written notice of one year in advance. Currently, it’s unclear if all three states have taken this action.

According to the treaty, they have to stick to its rules for the entire year.

Credit: 3news



bottom of page