• rodneythinkmediaex

Political Landmarks.

As Ghana anticipates the 8th Parliament of the fourth Republic

with its historic current of A hung parliament, the research desk Of

THINKNEWSONLINE brings you a brief history of Of the Institution, its speakers, right from

the first republic to date.

THE SPEAKER: The office of the speaker was first created in Ghana in 1949

when the Governor ceased to be ex-Officio president of the legislative council.

The speaker's ruling cannot be challenged except on a substantive motion. He is

assisted by two deputies. The speaker is elected from within or outside Parliament

at the beginning of the new Parliament and holds office during the life of that



  1. Sir Emmanuel Charles Quist, (1951-1957

  2. Hon. Justice Augustus Molade Akiwumi, 1958-1960

  3. Hon. Richard Joseph Asiedu, 1960-1965

  4. Hon. kofi Asante Ofori-Atta, 1965-1966

  5. Hon. Justice Nii Armah Ollenu, 1969-1971

  6. Hon. Justice Jacob Hackenburg Randolph, (father of First lady, Rebecca Akufo-Addo),1979-1981

  7. Hon. Justice Daniel Francis Annan, 1997-2001

  8. Right Hon. Peter Ala Adjetey, 2001-2005

  9. Hon. Begyina sekyi-Hughes, 2005-2009

  10. Justice Joyce Bamford-Addo, 2009-2013

  11. Hon. Edward Doe Adjaho, 2013-2016.

  12. Hon. Mike Aaron Ocquaye, 2017 to date



Think News Online is your news portal for all breaking news updates, latest news headlines, local and world stories, showbiz, lifestyle etc.

About us

About Us


Terms & Conditions

Privacy Policy

© 2020 Think News Online - Developed and managed by Think Digital