top of page
  • Think News Online

FDA CEO, Delese Darko Receives "The Change Maker Award"

The Youth Leadership Parliament of Ghana under its initiative of the Millennium Youth Impact Awards (MYIA) conferred the honor of “The Change Maker Award’ on the Chief Executive Officer of the Food and Drugs (FDA), Delese Mimi Darko.

The award is in recognition of her distinguished leadership as CEO in bringing about an innovative transformation of the FDA that directly impacts the contribution of Science and Technology to the socio-economic development of Ghana.

The annual awards program seeks to honor distinguished young leaders, individuals, businesses, and multinationals who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and impacted lives, in their areas of endeavor under an initiative called ‘The Millennium Youth Impact Awards’.

Winners of the 2021 award in other categories included, Hon. Haruna Iddrisu, Hon. Mathew Opoku Prempeh, Hon. Lydia Seyram Alhassan, Mr. Daniel Addo, CEO of Consolidated Bank Ghana, Mr. Nana Kwame Bediako, CEO of Kwarleyz Group of Companies, Former President, H.E John Agyekum Kufuor.

Explaining the steps that lead to the selection of award winners, the coordinator of the MYIA said "Nominees for the Millennium Awards are carefully selected and vetted by the nomination board before they are voted upon by an electoral college from across the 16 regions of Ghana in order to confirm winners of the award in the various categories"

The Awardee of the awards must have been distinguished in one of the three (3) thematic areas of the initiative: (i) Transformation of Lives; (ii) Value Addition; and (iii) Enabling Environment for Human Development.

Mrs. Darko expressed appreciation to the Youth Leadership Parliament of Ghana for the honor conferred on her and assured them of the continued commitment of the leadership and staff of the FDA to contributing to ensuring an effective public health and safety system in the country.

Mrs. Darko was also nominated for the award under the Innovation, Science and Technology category of the award on the 28th November 2020.

Below is a copy of the release:

Story by: Joshua Kwabena Smith



bottom of page