top of page
  • Think News Online

LOCAL NEWS: Information Ministry Updates Ghanaians On Works Of 2020 Presidential Transition Team

The Deputy Minister for Information, Pious Enam Hadzide has on Wednesday updated the Ghanaian populace on the works of the 2020 Presidential Transition Team that was named by President and President-elect, Nana Akufo-Addo following the declaration of the Presidential election on December 7.

According to him, the Transition Team under the Chairmanship of the Chief of Staff, Frema Osei-Opare has been working in earnest from Accra International Conference Centre (AICC).

Addressing the media on Wednesday, he said "The Team has already received handing over notes of the OOP and Vice President and agencies under the portfolios of the President and the Vice President, Ministries, Departments, and Agenciencies and MMDAs from the Office of the Administrator-General"

He further explained that in accordance with section 4 of Act 845, some sub committees have been formed and have all commenced work,

He hinted that the various committees and their leadership will have no Committee Chair

"The Inauguration Committee is under the able chairmanship of Hon Shirley Ayorkor Boctway, Government Machinery/Presidency will be under the chairmanship of Hon Yaw Osafo Marfo, Finance & Economy will be under the chairmanship of Hon. Ken Ofori Atta likewise End of Service be under Hon. Ken Ofori Atta. Energy Natural Resources will have Hon. Dominic Ntiwul handling it while Legal & Governance will have Hon. Gloria Akuffo taking control. Infrastructure will be under the chairmanship of Hon. Ambrose Dery, Interior & Public Safety will be under the chairmanship of Hon. Kan Dapaah and Social Sector be chaired by Hon. Hajia Alima Mahama"

Speaking on an embargo on new contracts, MOU, and Appointments during the transition period, Pious explained that as part of efforts to ensure a seamless transition process, the Government has decided against entering into a new contractual obligation of financial nature during the transition period.

He stated that it includes; Signing contracts for Goods and Services exceeding two million cedis, Signing of contracts for works exceeding five million cedis, Memoranda of Understanding, Loan agreements; and Appointments of new Management personnel.

Stressing on the swearing-in of the President-elect before Parliament in the precinct of Parliament, he said "Ladies and Gentlemen of the media, recall that on the 3rd of November 2020, when H.E. President Akufo-Addo commissioned the Office facilities under the Physical Infrastructure Projects of Parliament in Parliament House Accra, Parliament made a passionate representation to him and the nation at large that, they wanted subsequent swearing-in of Presidents of the Republic to happen in Parliament and before Parliament in accordance with Ghanaian laws and international practice"

The Deputy Minister also mentioned that the Transition Team has favorably considered the request of the Parliament of Ghana as stated by Hon. Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu and has hence decided that the swearing of President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo on the 7th of January, 2021, shall happen before Parliament and within the Precincts of Parliament.

"The Inauguration Sub Committee is therefore working with Parliament to ensure a successful and COVID Complaint inauguration" he added.

Story by: Joshua Kwabena Smith



bottom of page