First Solar Eclipse Of 2022 Scheduled For April 30


The first solar eclipse of 2022 is less than a month away, occurring on April 30 across parts of Antarctica, the southern tip of South America and the Pacific and Atlantic Oceans. On April 30, a partial solar eclipse will sweep across parts of Antarctica, the southern tip of South America and the Pacific and Atlantic Oceans. The solar eclipse will begin at 2:45 p.m. EDT (1845 GMT), when it will be first be visible to skywatchers in the visibility area.


The time of maximum eclipse will be at 4:41 p.m. EDT (2041 GMT), with the eclipse ending at 6:37 p.m. EDT (2237 GMT), according to TimeandDate.com. A solar eclipse occurs when the moon passes between Earth and the sun, and, in this case, thereby partly obscures the sun for viewers on Earth.


Dyring this month’s partial solar eclipse, a maximum of 54% of the sun will be obscured by the moon.


Credit: Samantha Mathewson

0 comments