top of page
  • Think News Online

BREAKING NEWS: Adwoa Safo to contest Dome-Kwabenya seat again can confirm that the incumbent Member of Parliament (MP) for Dome-Kwabenya Constituency, Sarah Adwoa Safo will contest the Dome-Kwabenya Constituency seat again.

A source to MP in an interaction with said "She will contest again".

It will be recalled that Adwoa Safo was first elected as the Member of Parliament for Dome-Kwabenya Constituency in 2012.

She was again re-elected in 2016 and 2020.

The move by the MP to contest in the upcoming parliamentary primaries and election will be her fourth time contesting for the Dome-Kwabenya seat.

Parliamentary Election

The Dome-Kwabenya MP managed to retained her seat after polling 75,041 votes in 2020 parliamentary election.

NDC's parliamentary candidate, Faustina Elikplim Akurugu also had 52,262 votes.

The NPP also polled 78,467 in the presidential ballot to beat the NDC, which secured 50,136 votes in the constituency.

Ghana Union Movement (GUM) had 611 votes; Convention People’s Party (CPP) 75; Ghana Freedom Party (GFP) 40; Great Consolidate Popular Party (GCPP) 6, All People’s Congress (APC) 22; Liberal Party of Ghana (LPG) 24; People’s National Convention (PNC) 22; Progressive People’s Party (PPP) 73; National Democratic Party (NDP) 24 and independent 19.

Total valid after the December 7, 2020 electios stood at 129,519 out of which 1,352 were rejected.

Parliamentary Primaries

The incumbent MP defeated Lawyer Mike Oquaye Jnr in the parliamentary primary of the New Patriotic Party (NPP).

Adwoa Safo polled 496 votes while her opponent, lawyer Oquaye Junior garnered 488 votes.

That was the second time Mr Qquaye had contested her.

It is however unclear whether Lawyer Mike Oquaye Jnr will be contesting the incumbent for the third time.

Story by: Joshua Kwabena Smith



bottom of page